top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

projects and labs and flare ups OH MY!


Since the middle of February, I have been in an intense flare up. I've been on and off crutches and it sucks. My hip has been killing me and it's been really hard to tell if the pain is coming from the muscles and ligaments that were injured in a gymnastics injury or if my CRPS is spreading up my into my thigh and hip. I have been working hard on making myself better which means more appointments, taking time off of school and training, and just working as hard as I can to get better.

On March 2, I took my first steps without crutches. On March 3, I jumped for the first time and I was able to do all of my difficult turns and balances at training with a pain level of 6!! I was able to go to one of my closets friends sleepover which was my first sleepover since my diagnosis. It was so much fun and I'm happy I was able to be there for her.

However not everything has been so great. I have missed a lot of school in the last little bit. When I get sick, it can be hard for me to concentrate or even think because I have to take more medication. Gabapentin in the high doses I have to take it at results in cognitive issues and THC/CBD is what I use for sleep but when my pain is crazy, I take it during the day and that makes me high, sleepy, and not in the mood for doing homework or online school.

Now onto actual school. I am in two in-class classes: Grade 12 Chemistry and Grade 11 English Language Arts. In the time I've missed from school (and I've only missed 6 Chemistry classes and 5 ELA classes) I've missed 5 chemistry labs, 2 chemistry quizzes, 1 ELA individual project, 1 ELA group project, and 2 ELA quizzes. That's a lot for someone who can barely eat, sleep or talk because their pain is so bad. I've finished the labs, ELA group project, and the ELA quizzes but I still feel like there is so much to do and I either don't have the time, resources, and, quite frankly, the ability to do some of the things. I am proud of how much I've changed and where I am going and it's all about working hard and doing everything I can on good days and taking the time I need when I'm sick.

And I'll leave you with my new favourite quote:

Whoever said "WINNING ISN'T EVERYTHING" clearly was fighting CRPS #fightforacure

bottom of page