top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

All I want for Christmas is...

The other day I was talking to a group of my friends and someone asked "What do you want for Christmas?". Everyone immediately started talking about how they wanted a new car, camera, or computer but when the question came around to me, the only thing I could think about was "I want one day without pain for Christmas". Everyone stopped and then the subject was changed. It really got me thinking about what is important in life. I have an amazing family who cares for me who are willing to do anything for me. I have my amazing mother who reads constantly about "cures" for CRPS and is doing everything in her power to make me better. My stepdad, James, who will drop everything at work to come pick me up from school when I am having a bad pain day. My Grandfather drives 450 kilometres every week or so to take me to my appointments. I have such an incredible support system with people who care about my health and wellbeing.

This part is a little darker because it brings up the Holocaust and World War Two. I wanted to use this as an analogy to acknowledge how lucky I am. I am in Social 20-1 IB and we had an in-depth analysis of the Holocaust during World War II. I broke down in class today due to this. There was a thing called the Euthanasia Program. Nazi policy to eliminate "life unworthy at life" (mentally or physically challenged) to promote Aryan "Racial Integrity" . This made me think of how grateful I am to be in a country where I feel safe and secure. Being "physically disabled" sucks now but being in a situation like Auschwitz. I would be without my medications and being killed for being a "non-perfect Aryan". I was shocked because being German, I was never really told about World War Two and the Holocaust. I didn't even know there were Nazis in the Sound of Music until earlier this school year! I get called a cripple at least 3 times a day and I am use to it. Thinking about the Euthanasia Programs has changed my entire view on my illness.

I'm sorry about how dark that got but I think it is important to being light to this. Anyways, Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and have an Amazing New Year! COUNTDOWN TO CABO: 9 DAY!

bottom of page