top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Exam Stress

Exam season is approaching quickly and I thought it was optimal time to write a little bit more about my school life. In the beginning of November, I talked to both my Councillor and my Assistant Principle about my disorder and ways to make me feel more comfortable at school. The unanimous decision that I receive standing desks for all of my classes. This backfired horribly when I asked my Biology teacher to ask them when my desks would be here. They told me that there was a bit of confusion which resulted in the order paper being left on someone's desk. Anyways, now I'm stuck with only one standing desk in a class that I'm not in anymore.

On to exams. This years exam schedule is much weirder than normal. This year we have two weeks of school with only 3 days in them. It is structured so weirdly that my friends have started calling it "An Anikka Week". When I get stressed or nervous, my CRPS goes into a crazy flareup. I was placed on an Individualized Program Plan (IPP) which means I have a special code that says I require extra time on exams and assignments, a standing desks, and the ability to walk around. This should help reduce my anxiety. High School exams cause an extreme amount of stress and stress causes nervous systems to go into "fight or flight" mode and for someone with a nervous system disorder, it really sucks. Luckily, exams are all over and now I can focus on my new classes. This semester, I have Chemistry 30 (Grade 12 Chemistry) and English Language Arts 20-1 (Grade 11 ELA) in class and Career and Life Management and Social Studies 20-1 (Grade 11 Social Studies) online. I'm super excited to start only school because it means I can work during my spares, home, appointments, wherever!

bottom of page